Quinoa is some seriously good stuff!

Quinoa (play /ˈknwɑː/ or /kɨˈn.ə/Spanishquinua, from Quechuakinwa), a species of goosefoot (Chenopodium), is a grain-like crop grown primarily for its edible seeds. It is a pseudocereal rather than a truecereal, or grain, as it is not a member of the grass family. As a chenopod, quinoa is closely related to species such as beetsspinach, and tumbleweeds. (courtesy of Wikipedia)

Don’t laugh now, but I started reading about Quinoa in my research for healthy things that the birds can eat that don’t involve seed diets from a bag. I watched a video for making “Chop”  made by Patricia Sund and thought that the stuff actually looked like it might taste pretty good 😉 Off to Native Harvest I went and there on the shelf it was, just waiting for me to take it home. Okay that’s a little dramatic, but it’s kinda what I felt like when I saw it.

Cooking it is super simple, 1 part Quinoa to 2 parts liquid. I cooked ours tonight with chicken broth and it didn’t need anything else. I’ve also seen recipes where you make it like fried rice too, going to have to try that soon. After I brought the liquid to a boil, I put the lid on and simmered it for 15 minutes while I heated up the stir fry to go with it.

I can safely say that there will be very little white rice cooked in this house again, because the nutritional value for the Quinoa far surpasses that of white rice and the taste is subtle and a bit on the nutty side. Trust me, if Momma will eat it, you’ll like it.  So, my friends head out to Native Harvest here in town and grab some. I’m guessing that you can probably get it at Martin’s too, I would look in the pasta/rice aisle.

Happy Cooking 😀

Leave a Reply

