Adventures in caramel pie making…

Recently we were sitting on the porch talking with someone, I’m sorry I can’t remember who and the subject of pie came up. I have no idea what made me think about it this morning, but something did so I thought what better to do on a cool (read cold) cloudy Monday than start typing up the recipes we used to use. *Side note, do you know how many tries it took me to spell recipes right? Sad very sad ;-)*  

I remember being in my early 20s and deciding to make Nanny’s Caramel Pies. I pulled out the old cookbook and checked to see what ingredients I needed. When I read the recipe, I thought it said 4 CUPS of jelly, not 4 tbsp.  You can see where this is headed can’t you? Off to the store I go to buy 2 jars of grape jelly.  I go about my business mixing everything up, still oblivious to the fact that I am not doing this right. Time to pour everything into the pie shells, do you think I figured it out then. Nope! I remember pouring it in and thinking that this sure was soupy, I hoped it would set up. I also remember looking at it and thinking that I didn’t remember Nanny’s pies being purple. 25 minutes later, I check the pies and still have soup. I can’t remember how long I let them stay in the over, but you can bet they NEVER set up. After those things cooled they went right into the ole trash can.

So here we have the actual recipe, yes I triple checked this time ;). If you’re in the mood for some old fashioned decadence, give it a try.

Caramel Pie

2 cups sugar

6 eggs beaten

4 tbsp of grape, damson or plum jelly

1 stick of butter – softened

2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp flour

2 unbaked pie shells

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar together, add in other ingredients. Pour into unbaked pie shell and bake 25 minutes.

Happy baking 😀

Leave a Reply

